AMP | Kids is proud to announce an ongoing partnership with The Mini Page, now in its 50th year of providing engaging and fun learning opportunities to young readers across the country. This feature was originally syndicated in newspapers the week of June 8 – 14, 2019. It is distributed digitally here with permission from Andrews McMeel Syndication. Enjoy and share with the young learners in your life!

The 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup France™ is underway! This international sporting event will go on through July 7 in nine host cities in France. Let’s find out more about the tournament!

Meet FIFA™

FIFA (FEE-fah) is a French acronym for the International Federation of Association Football. It is the organization in charge of the Women’s World Cup and other international soccer tournaments.

How it works

This year’s tournament is the eighth football World Cup for women’s teams. This is the first time France has been the host.

FIFA organizes members into six confederations, or groups. Each confederation hosts a tournament to determine which teams qualify for the FIFA Women’s World Cup™.

The World Cup has two stages,

or parts: group play and knockout play. In group play, each team plays the other three teams in its assigned group. If a team wins, it receives three points; a draw, or a tie, is awarded one point. The two teams with the most points in each group then advance to the knockout stage, where a loss means elimination.

Soccer in the news

In March, 28 members of the U.S. women’s soccer national team pool filed a lawsuit against U.S. Soccer, asking for women players to be paid the same as men on the national team. They believe they are victims of gender discrimination, or treating someone differently because of their sex.

Bonjour, Ettie™!

The official mascot of the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup™ is Ettie, a young chicken. She is the daughter of the mascot for the 1998 FIFA World Cup™ France, Footix.

Ettie’s name comes from the French word for star, étoile. She comes from a long line of Gallic roosters — a national French symbol.

France’s host cities

In France, nine cities will host Women’s World Cup matches. See if you can find these cities on a globe or in an atlas:

  • Montpellier
  • Nice
  • Valenciennes
  • Paris
  • Lyon
  • Reims
  • Le Havre
  • Grenoble
  • Rennes

Check your newspaper to find out where to watch the FIFA Women’s World Cup™.

The semifinals and finals of the Women’s World Cup will be played at Parc Olympique Lyonnais near Lyon.

On the Web:

Teachers: For standards-based activities to accompany this feature, visit Andrews McMeel Syndication. And follow The Mini Page on Facebook!



Recent Posts